Faculty lineup takes shape for 2011

Jazz Campers and Residency participants know how fun being at SJW's summer programs can be. But SJW has a huge reputation among jazz educators as well, which is why the top artists and educators clamor for faculty positions.

Peter Stoltzman, who is returning to SJW as the Jazz Camp Faculty Director, explains the excitement of being a dedicated SJW faculty member: “I am honored and excited to accept this position in 2011, the Workshop's 40th season," he says. "My favorite thing about being an SJW faculty member is having the chance to help young musicians enjoy the experience of being a musician. Whether they go on to be professional musicians or not doesn't matter. Each student at SJW is already essentially a musician, and always will be. As a teacher, when you witness the experience of new growth, understanding, or inspiration, there is nothing more satisfying. Teaching at SJW renews my musical spirit, sharpens my skills, and rejuvenates my enthusiasm for the music we call jazz.”

Many longtime faculty members have already signed up to return for 2011, and we're also pleased to welcome many new artists to the SJW family as well. We're still filling quite a few positions, but as of today, here are the faculty members you can expect to encounter when you attend the 2011 Jazz Camp or Jazz Residency. For individual faculty profiles, click here.

Reuben Allen - piano Dana Leong – trombone/cello
Reid Anderson - bass Victor Lin – piano/violin
Hamir Atwal - drums Joe Lovano – saxophone
Marcus Belgrave - trumpet Matt Marantz – saxophone
John Britton - trumpet Rebecca Martin – voice
George Cables - piano Irvin Mayfield – trumpet
Edmar Castaneda - harp Seward McCain – bass
Ndugu Chancler - drums Wendy McCain – voice
Cory Cox - drums Bob Murphy – saxophone
Sandy Cressman - voice Martin Nevin – bass
Natalie Cressman - trombone Bennett Paster – piano
Ruth Davies - bass Jeb Patton – piano
Dena DeRose - voice/piano Randy Porter – piano
Madeline Eastman - voice Harish Raghavan – bass
Taylor Eigsti - piano Wallace Roney – trumpet
Ben Flocks - saxophone Jenny Scheinman – violin
Bill Frisell - guitar Khalil Shaheed – trumpet
Tomoko Funaki - bass Judi Silvano – voice
Joe Gilman - piano Scott Sorkin – guitar
Dave Gregoric - trombone Andrew Speight – saxophone
Larry Grenadier - bass Dayna Stephens – saxophone/bass
Lynn Gruenewald - saxophone Peggy Stern – voice/piano
Fred Harris - piano Peter Stoltzman – piano
Lorca Hart - drums Kristen Strom – saxophone
Albert “Tootie” Heath - drums Frank Sumares – piano
Jimmy Heath - saxophone Yosvany Terry – saxophone
Gregory Hutchinson - drums Josh Thurston-Milgrom – bass
Ethan Iverson - piano Wayne Wallace – trombone
Erik Jekabson - trumpet Anthony Wilson – guitar
David King - drums Patrick Wolff – saxophone
Rob Kohler - bass David Wong – bass
Reed Kotler – piano David Yamasaki – guitar
Julian Lage – guitar